Love and Hate

Written by: Hien Van Nguyen III – Grade 11

IMG_3411

I love you/I hate you.

I don’t know if you know how I feel.

Probably not, but maybe.

I’ve tried to hide it, but I don’t know how well I was doing.

But after all you’ve done

And after everything that’s happened

I feel like I need to tell you myself.

.

I love you/I hate you.

When we first met,

We were friends

And it was fun.

I do miss just being friends with you sometimes.

.

But things are so different between us now.

So much has happened since then.

Some of it was your fault,

Some was mine,

And some of it was fate.

But we both had a hand in it

And now things have changed.

.

We don’t talk anymore, really.

We haven’t for a while.

But I still see you all the time

When you pass me by in the halls.

.

I tense up when I see you.

My blood races in my veins

And suddenly, nothing exists but the memories.

Just the way that you talk to the people around you

And the way your laugh cuts through the crowd,

I can’t stop thinking about it.

.

The way things are right now;

It’s unhealthy for me

And it’s keeping me up at night.

It’s unhealthy to keep my feelings bottled up like this.

.

So there.

I love you/I hate you.

I can’t remember feeling so strongly about another person

And I can’t remember being consumed by anything

The way that this is consuming me.

I’m not expecting any specific reaction from you

Or any reaction, really.

I just needed to tell you for me.

After all, you didn’t hesitate sharing your troubles with me.

As far as being motivators, consumers, muses, re-directions, and passions, I don’t think that there are two more similar emotions than true love and pure hatred.

Comments

