Humans of Pearson: Armina Rashid (2016 Alumnus)

Written by: Naoreen Kabir – Grade 11.5

arrminy

What has been your proudest accomplishment over your high school career?

Joining Art IB. It sucked this year because they changed the curriculum, but being able to learn a lot about it in grade 11 was actually really fun because it’s so different from the regular Alberta art curriculum. With Alberta art, it just focuses on your art. Your teacher gives you an assignment, you do it, and that’s it. With art IB you learn about art history. You learn how to critically analyze different works of art. You’re able to grow more as an artist because you’re able to find what you’re more comfortable with. You learn about movements that intrigue you.

Was there any specific artist that you liked?

I just generally liked them all. For sure I’d say my favourite artist is Leonardo da Vinci because he’s the one who inspired me to be an artist. He also inspired me to be a scientist. He’s such a fascinating person. I’ve always wanted to be like him, which is why I actually joined IB, because I wanted to be known as more than just an artist.

14002441_1103678766345717_1627169111_o 14012771_1103678763012384_1689045869_o

What’s something about you that a lot of people don’t know?

I have this thing… I’m not a test person, so for some questions I just blank out. Questions like that or questions that are really hard, I call them Felicia questions because when I see them I’m like, “Felicia! What is this?! Why do you hate me?!”

Who’s Felicia?

Oh, no one. It’s just a saying.

14001818_1103678783012382_2058063319_o14011816_1103678769679050_899313373_n

How have you changed from when you were younger, and how have you stayed the same?

I think what stayed the same is my active imagination and my love for jokes. Also, art, because I’ve been drawing since before I went to kindergarten. I think I started when I was four. As well as singing. I still regularly go to the mosque and I’m still a volunteer. I started [volunteering] when I was seven.

I like math, actually. I like it more now. When I was little I used to hate it. It used to make me feel bad about myself because I went to Kumon. It wasn’t like I was doing it wrong or anything, I was doing it slow. Because it’s Kumon they expect you to just do it right and they expect you to do it fast. But, because I was only doing it right and not fast, they would give me less Kumon dollars. But I like it more now. I really like algebra, and I especially like trigonometry. I think it’s really fun. Not trig identities, but everything else in trigonometry is pretty fun.

Growing up with Scooby Doo, I used to love solving mysteries and stuff. So it’s kinda like solving mysteries, like, what is this variable? They relate it more to real life situations than like, Linda has 60 watermelons. Linda doesn’t need 60 watermelons. I don’t need that many watermelons.

13942517_1103678749679052_485616723_n13950883_1103678753012385_132100044_o

“I want to be an art teacher. And a science teacher. I really like art and science.”

Why do you want to become a teacher?

I love learning. On the flip side, I also really love teaching, because it’s kind of like learning yourself, again. I’m also very capable. I’m actually very good at teaching. I’m not trying to be pretentious or anything. I help my friends understand certain things when they don’t get it. It’s a great way to stay immersed in the aspect of knowledge.

I’ve always loved learning. That’s another thing that hasn’t changed. My mom used to be a teacher so I think that’s where I got it from. All of us grew up enjoying learning and enjoying social studies and stuff. It’s just like going on an adventure.

Comments

