10 DIYs That Will Blow Your Mind Because They’re so Easy to Do

Written by: Aymen Sherwani – Grade 10 

1. Vintage Button Statement Necklace

Personally, I liked this DIY project because of its “steampunk” touch to it. Is it just me or does that necklace practically scream “post-apocalyptic fashion era”? It’s a super easy project, & the link can be found here: http://www.instructables.com/id/Vintage-buttons-necklace/

2. Quotable Cushion Covers

With a stencil, the permanent marker of your choice, and a pillow cover (obviously), you can display overly sentimental quotes around your house. I might actually try this one. I’m sure everyone can follow the pictures below on how to do this DIY, but here’s a tutorial on how to sew a pillow too: http://www.thewonderforest.com/2013/06/5-minute-pillow-covers-tutorial.html

3. Elegant Votive Candleholders

Can I just say that this is one of the best DIYs I’ve ever seen, yet it’s the easiest? I would be terrified at how easy it is, if the result wasn’t so great. Basically, all you need is spray paint, preferably in a metallic tone, medium to tall drinking glasses and rubber bands. That’s it. I don’t even think you guys need a tutorial for this one.

All you do is wrap the rubber bands around the outside of the glass, and then spray the glass with your desired paint. When the paint dries put a candle in the glass.

4. Ceiling Pom-Poms

I can’t even begin to tell you about how big of a fan I am about ceiling pom-poms. I actually have two hanging in my room that I made myself! That begin said, they’re very easy to make, since even I’m capable of making them, and the tutorial is right here: http://www.hgtv.com/design/make-and-celebrate/handmade/how-to-make-tissue-pom-poms

5. Rainbow Cheesecake

My jaw honestly dropped when I saw this recipe on YouTube. I don’t care if you’re a guy, girl or the NSA- everyone needs to try this recipe. I think it would be awesome if there was a layer of chocolate fondant over the cheesecake so there’s an insane reveal when the cake is cut:

6. Ribbon and Pearl Bracelet

I’m actually really angry because I bought a $20 bracelet that looks almost the same, and then this DIY appears out of nowhere! Word of Advice: make the bracelet at home. Save your money. There’s actually a YouTube video on how to make you own, so no worries on trying to find a good tutorial:

7. Gold Monogram Mug

I’m really excited about this DIY because of two reasons: once I’m done this article, I’m going to make like 50, and I saw the same mugs at an Indigo store, which were just as beautiful. This is the perfect birthday, and holiday present too! Here’s the tutorial on how to make them: http://cladandcloth.com/?p=1771

 8. The Secret Compartment Book

Do I really need to provide an explanation as to why this DIY is the coolest thing ever? Did you not read “Secret Compartment Book”? It’s the perfect DIY for when you want to hide your sibling’s phone somewhere they won’t suspect. 🙂

Tutorial: http://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-Hollow-Book

 9. Scrabble Coasters for your Café Needs

Not only have we finally found a use for those scrabble tiles that no one uses anymore, we’ve also found a cool way to write out your favorite phrases! Now you can put your coffee on them. It’s a super simple DIY that “brings all the baristas to the yard”. Anyone? No? Okay.

Tutorial: http://thegourmetgab.com/diy-wednesday-scrabble-coasters/

10. Mason Jar Snow Globe

This would be the cutest Christmas or Hanukkah present this season because:

  • Who doesn’t like snow globes?
  • They’re customizable.

Tutorial: http://www.pbs.org/parents/crafts-for-kids/diy-snow-globe/

One comment

Comments

